Short films away from the mainstream

We are deliberately not committed to any particular genre, theme or format - the mix of genres is our trademark. At filmzeit, fiction and documentaries, animated and experimental films can be seen in a colourful mix.

With the vision of bringing "new intellectual nourishment" to the region, the festival was founded in Kaufbeuren in 2008. It quickly established itself as a small, fine festival with a top-class jury. The DACHfilmzeit, the Dokufilmzeit and the competition for the Democracy Award still take place in Kaufbeuren.

With the 13th edition in 2020, the festival went to other locations in the Allgäu. In Kempten the Filmzeit International will be held. In Immenstadt, the Musikfilmzeit is all about music and dance.

We screen current films of a consistently high standard, sometimes sober and serious, sometimes funny, provocative or quirky, but always touching and inspiring. Either way the films encourage exchanges between the audience and the filmmakers present. Presented in blocks of around 90 minutes, the programmes are introduced by experienced presenters.

Main Sponsors

©2022 filmzeitkaufbeuren e. V.

Kurzfilme abseits vom Mainstream

Wir haben uns ganz bewusst auf kein bestimmtes Genre, Thema oder Format festgelegt – der Mix an Genres ist unser Markenzeichen. Bei der filmzeit sind kurze Spiel- und Dokumentarfilme, Animations- und Experimentalfilme bunt zusammengestellt zu sehen.

Mit der Vision, „neue geistige Nahrung” in die Region zu bringen, wurde die filmzeit 2008 in Kaufbeuren gegründet. Sie hat sich schnell als kleines, feines Festival mit hochkarätiger Jury etabliert. In Kaufbeuren finden die DACHfilmzeit, die Dokufilmzeit und der Wettbewerb um den Demokratiepreis statt.

Mit der 13. Ausgabe 2020 ging das Festival an weitere Orte im Allgäu. In Kempten wird die Filmzeit International ausgelobt. In Immenstadt dreht sich bei der Musikfilmzeit alles um Musik und Tanz.

Wir zeigen aktuelle Filme auf durchweg hohem Niveau, mal nüchtern und ernst, mal lustig, provokant oder schräg, aber immer berührend und inspirierend. So oder so regen die Filme zum Austausch zwischen Publikum und anwesenden Filmemacher:innen an. Sie werden in Blöcken von rund 90 Minuten präsentiert und von erfahrenen Moderator:innen begleitet.

Hauptförderer

©2022 filmzeitkaufbeuren e. V.